Menu Menu

The 22 major arcana of the tarot

The major arcana of the Tarot represent a set of teachings which an individual can use to help with personal development and the acquisition of experience. These 22 cards represent a cycle in which the individual develops and improves their skills. Each major card is numbered from 1 to 21, with the exception of the Fool which is a character devoid of any experience. The Fool initiates the journey towards the World (21), a journey during which he will be confronted with the teachings of the Tarot. This will constitute his life path.

When a major arcana appears in your draw, it carries a lesson and announces a change in your life that it is important to study. When it appears upside down, it evokes a failure and invites you to reflect on it.

To go deeper and understand all the teachings of the major arcana, it is essential to know their meaning.

This guide offers an overview to the 22 major arcana of the Tarot and helps you to understand what they teach. You will discover their characteristics, their positive and negative attributes and their symbolic or concrete interpretation in a draw and you will be able to study the 231 possible associations of the major arcana.

A complete interpretation of the 22 major arcana

  • The Magician
  • The High Priestess
  • The Empress
  • The Emperor
  • The Hierophant
  • The Lovers
  • The Chariot
  • Strength
  • The Hermit
  • Wheel of Fortune
  • Justice
  • The Hanged Man
  • Death
  • Temperance
  • The Devil
  • The Tower
  • The Star
  • The Moon
  • The Sun
  • The Judgment
  • The World
  • The Fool

Would you like to make a draw of the Tarot cards?

    Our interactive interface offers free tarot draws